The International Assocation for the Study of Pain (IASP) defines pain as: “An unpleasant sensory and emotional experience associated with actual or potential tissue damage, or described in terms of such damage.”  As osteopathic physicians practicing in the field of pain medicine, it is our mission to bring the principles and practice of osteopathic medicine to the treatment of pain. We believe many disciplines should be involved in the management of pain.  Thus it is our goal to encompass the various osteopathic specialties allowing a comprehensive approach to the management of pain.

The purpose of the AOA Pain Medicine Subspecialty examination is to protect the public by identifying board certified osteopathic physicians who have advanced knowledge, skills and abilities in pain medicine.

Osteopathic Pain Medicine is a multi-disciplinary subspecialty of osteopathy concerned with the assessment, diagnosis and treatment of the entire scope of pain, painful diseases and disorders, and sequelae which emphasizes the use of osteopathic principles, practices, and manipulative treatment.  The osteopathic physician, as the leader of the pain treatment team who understands the anatomic and physiologic, psychological, perceptual, and procedural bases of pain and its treatment, is uniquely qualified to provide a comprehensive approach to the treatment of pain.

The American Osteopathic Conjoint Pain Medicine Examination Committee is composed of six distinguished osteopathic physicians elected by their participating certifying Board. Correspondingly listed is the committee representative and board executive director.



American Osteopathic Board of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Chair:  Thomas F. Jan, DO, FAOCPMR, DABAM, C-MROCC

Co-Chair: Paul S. Jones, DO, PT

Certification Director: Angela Beranek


American Osteopathic Board of Family Physicians
Committee Representative:  Joan M. Grzybowski, DO, FACOFP
Certification Director: Carol Thoma, MBA

American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine
Committee Member:  Ingrid Brown, DO
Certification Director:  Daniel Hart

American Osteopathic Board of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine
Committee Member:  Daniel G. Williams, DO
Certification Director:  Angela Beranek

American Osteopathic Board of Neurology & Psychiatry
Committee Member:  Timothy Schoonover, DO
Certification Director:  Vivian Ross